New Jersey VegFest Volunteers: Nadine Danon Duke

We asked our volunteers to share a little bit about what made them want to spending their weekend helping make the New Jersey VegFest happen and we have loved reading their stories. Today’s volunteer is Nadine Danon Duke 

14456911_1149603051744784_241124069_o

I went vegan “cold turkey” on January 5, 2013, after watching Forks Over Knives. It was the best decision I ever made. My initial reasons were for health, but as I learned more about the factory farming industry, the dairy industry, the leather industry, etc., I became an ethical vegan as well. I’ve actually come full circle, adopting a whole food plant based diet in 2015, avoiding oil, sugar, salt, and processed foods as much as possible, again for health reasons. But I am most proud to be an ethical vegan and thrilled that two of my three young adult daughters are now vegan too (I’m still working on the third)! I love to cook now and share photos of my vegan meals and articles/videos about veganism on my Facebook page where I hope to educate and enlighten (and I have gotten through to several friends). I love attending vegfests and other vegan events and being around others who “get it” and I am excited for the first NJ VegFest where I know so many people will have the opportunity to make the connection and hopefully choose veganism too.”

One thought on “New Jersey VegFest Volunteers: Nadine Danon Duke

Leave a comment